Exercising with 20 and 30 somethings


A yoga class.

Image via Wikipedia

My husband and I took the initiative to join a Health Club.   We knew it was time to really work on maintaining our youthful appearances, and our grown children were bugging us.( It was nice to know that they wanted us to survive well into our 100’s.)

The first Health Club we joined was convenient and inexpensive, but we found that you do get what you pay for. The yoga class consisted of  30 very old people laying on the floor and moving one leg at a time in a semi-circle. The steam room was one lonely shower stall with an on switch. The towel service was less than generous, one skimpy towel. The pool was  occasionally cloudy, and that couldn’t have been a good sign.

I finally convinced him to join the gym in the trendy shopping center. It looked like the Taj Mahal after being in the broken-down gym. It had two big pools, well-maintained gym equipment, and an endless supply of towels.

I was in for some culture shock when I went upstairs and saw the clientele. They were very well-shaped 20 and 30 somethings. The ladies had sculpted arms and the guys looked like they were competing in body building competitions. (There were also some average looking people, but I was now one of the oldest clients).

After trying some classes, I was in for another shock; I couldn’t keep up.

Luckily, I found a good place for myself, the aerobics swim classes. There were other people my age, and I fit right in. Water is a great medium to exercise in when your older. There were some challenging classes: aerobics and biking in the water. It’s great for your heart rate.

Not a person that gives up easily, I still went upstairs. I found something I’d done before, bike spinning.  You ride stationary bikes while music plays. I felt like part of the class until the leader came up and asked me if I was all right. (After a few classes, he figured out that although I was older, I wasn’t weak). After a few classes I began to appreciate the loud music although I try my best not to concentrate on the lyrics.

The twenty or thirty somethings don’t mind sharing space with me, and treat me just like an equal. They’ll even assist me when I have a problem with a machine.

I’m happy to say the yoga class consists of doing all the moves, not just lifting one leg at a time.

If you’re sitting on your couch, I would recommend you get up and at least take a walk. After that, drive to your favorite reputable Health Club. You can always modify your moves. Nobody will judge you.

Look for a place with a clean whirlpool, swimming pool, and sauna. You will feel like a sexy revitalized baby-boomer when you are done.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Exercising with 20 and 30 somethings

  1. okay…I am going tomorrow to check out one of our local establishments. I had been putting it off thinking that I just did’nt have time for this but maybe i will have to find time.
    I hate feeling tired and worn out so I am hoping this will help. Gosh I remember when I was one of those 20 and 30 somethings and I was at the gym often.
    you have me convinced!

Leave a Reply

