The Case of the disappearing post


English: Apple Computer — Apple Store, M...

Image via Wikipedia

I wrote a post on my views on reality television, however, I lost it when I used Zemanta. I ended up with a picture instead of a post!

I have a Mac, and have religiously gone to some of the classes. I’ve even gotten one-to-one instruction. They young genius helpers are patient. They seem to understand that some people of my generation are just not tuned into the technology age.

They find it strange that I ask for a paper and pencil to write things down. It’s something from the 20th century. Don’t I realize it’s now a paperless world? (Which is a good thing because I hate hunting down little pieces of paper).

When I walked into a Best Buy several years ago, I realized things had drastically changed. Fancy cell phones, answering machines, recording devices, and on and on.  What happened to knobs that you turned? What happened to high and low volume switches? What was going on?

When I went into the Apple store to figure out how to use my new computer,  I looked over at the children at the kiddie computers.  It was especially disturbing to see the little boy sitting in the chair with the pacifier hanging out of his mouth expertly playing a game.  These days they must be  born with a computer chip in their brains.

I finally have realized that I need to back up my posts.Because when they’re gone, I don’t have the patience to reconstruct them.

I realized that it can be generational when I sat down with my uncle several years ago, and tried to show him how to use a mouse. He just couldn’t get it. I just didn’t have the patience to wait till he caught on. I suddenly understood why my son looked like he was going to explode when he’d agree to help me every once in a while.

In the meantime, I’ll renew my one-to-one at the Apple Store and keep at it. It’s a good way to meet other people my own age. They’re sitting at the projects table with me.

I have to clarify that there are plenty of people my age who are fantastic at technology. Some of them have been leaders in the field. I guess, some of us are born to adapt to this stuff, and others just have to keep taking classes.

Dare I try to add a picture to this post?  Will it disappear?

Anybody with some simple tips you can give me about word-press? Put it in the comments section.

I’ll reconstruct my reality TV  post tomorrow. I thought it was one of my best.

If you’ve had the same experience, feel free to comment. If you have advice, make it as simple as possible!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

