Thank You Gary Trudeau: My newspaper won’t run his comic strip


I am so happy Gary Trudeau decided to run his latest comic strip, Doonesbury, on his website.

Doonesbury (musical)

If he hadn’t I wouldn’t have been aware of the Sonogram laws they passed in Texas last Spring, and the law they recently   passed in Virginia.  I didn’t know those states had laws which forced  women to have a sonogram and hear a fetal heartbeat before an abortion is performed.

How invasive is that?

I also have to thank my paper for refusing to run the strip. If they hadn’t done this, I might not have done research on this. I guess I haven’t paid attention to this because it doesn’t affect me anymore.

Are they afraid the public can’t take it? If you want to read the comic strip occurring on the last two days follow the link listed on the blogroll.

I know how I personally stood on abortion for myself.  However, I wouldn’t dream of telling other women what to do with their bodies. I know this is a controversial decision, and I understand why people feel the way the do. I can see both sides of the issue.

That’s not the point. The point is there is such a thing as freedom of speech. I find the fact that they withheld this strip very offensive. I’ll decide whether I can take it or not!

I thought this was the 21st century, not the dark ages.


Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Thank You Gary Trudeau: My newspaper won’t run his comic strip

Leave a Reply

