Why Michael J. Fox Inspires Me


Michael J. Fox

Michael J. Fox in "Back To The Future"

Michael J. Fox was on TV tonight. You have to admire his spirit.  He’s not afraid to get on TV and speak his mind, and he makes sense too. He was interviewed by Donny Deutsch who was a substitute host on CNN’s” Pierce Morgan.”

I have a lot of nice family memories surrounding Michael J. Fox. My kids, husband and I would watch “Family Ties” together. We adored Alex P. Keaton whom he played from 1982-1989. We took all three kids to see  “The Back To The Future Trilogy.” I also enjoyed the last series he did,”Spin City. He made over 20 pictures. His movie career screeched to a halt when he got Parkinson’s Disease.

I think Fox’s energy is what appeals to so many people. Fox has directed his energy to finding a cure for Parkinson’s Disease, a neurological disorder.

He’s raised millions of dollars with his foundation,” The Michael J. Fox Foundation”.

I’ve read all his books he’s written, and they’re all inspirational. His first book was called, “Lucky Man.”  Through his disease he found out what was really important in his life, and it wasn’t fame. He’s married to the beautiful actress, Tracey Pollen, and they have 4 children. Fox is happy she’s in his life. He made it clear that even with his disability, life is worth living.

He even touched on the fact that Rush Limbaugh had to apologize to him several years ago when he thought  Fox was exaggerating his illness when he made a political endorsement for a candidate. Deutsch asked if he had words for Limbaugh. Fox looked earnestly in the camera and said, “Keep talking Rush, keep talking!”

Fox brought out that it’s nice to listen to people who don’t agree with you. Then, you can point out their inconsistencies. Great suggestion.

I really took what he said it to heart. Even though he was directing his final words to people with Parkinson’s, anybody can apply it to their own lives. “I’m talking like you’re talking. I know I’m moving. I don’t need to hide anything anymore. I’m secure,  I have a great family, work to do, and things to keep me busy. Others don’t and they need to know research is being pursued. Learn as much as you can, experience one day at a time. Leave yourself open to possibilities”….

People like Fox inspire me.

Who inspires you?

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Why Michael J. Fox Inspires Me

Leave a Reply

