TSA Searches Wheelchair bound 3 year old. What do you think?


Now, I’ve seen everything . The TSA searched a little wheelchair bound 3-year-old little boy on a video I just saw on YouTube.  Supposedly the little boy was scared and was trembling.

Another woman was detained because she was carrying over $8,000, and they thought she might have embezzled it or stole it from someone. I have no idea why someone would be carrying that amount of money on them. It would make me suspicious too.

The TSA does say terrorists have hidden bombs and things in prosthetics. That’s how the TSA justifies personal searches. And I wouldn’t put anything past a terrorist. If the TSA missed something, everyone would be all over them for not doing their duty.

When I take  my sleep apnea machine through security, they always have to do a test on it. One time, someone stashed some dynamite in one, so they searched them all.  That did make me feel ridiculous. It’s bad enough that I have to use one, but does everyone have to know about it? The last time I traveled, I didn’t take it because I didn’t feel like going through the hassle. (I’ve heard that they stopped doing the test.)

I’ve seen people do silly things. One time I saw a person bring a swiss army knife that could be misconstrued for a weapon. They were upset when they took it away. How can you get upset about that?

I forgot about a whole new bottle of sun-tan lotion I had in my purse. I was irritated when they confiscated it, but it was a stupid oversight on my part.

I know every time I take a plane, I’m not looking forward to the security check.  First of all, I hate taking off my shoes, being pressured to put all my stuff in baskets. (I can never remember whether the purse gets its own basket, etc.) I hate taking my computer out of its case. I’m not a fast mover, so it’s a little intimidating.

Personally, I figure it’s worth a little inconvenience to check everyone out.  I wish they could do it without traumatizing people. I know if my privacy was drastically invaded, I would be more than a little upset. There should be a better and less invasive way to screen people.

TSA insignia

TSA insignia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’d hate to be blown up mid-air. And we know it’s happened more than once.

What’s your opinion on this? Have you ever had a bad experience, or seen someone’s privacy invaded unnecessarily?

You can find the wheelchair video in related articles that follows this post.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “TSA Searches Wheelchair bound 3 year old. What do you think?

  1. I do not fly enough to warrant a comment. When I see extremes in searches that the media posts, I do try to step back and see why the search was conducted in the way it was. Sometimes I get it, sometimes it may very well have been over the top. However, I agree with you closing statement. It is because of the past that the future had to change.

Leave a Reply

