The Hunger Games leaves me craving for more


I

53:366(Y2) - The Hunger Games

53:366(Y2) - The Hunger Games (Photo credit: Nomadic Lass)

If you like reality shows, good-looking teenagers killing each other, and Lenny Kravitz ―he doesn’t sing but exudes sex appeal― in a minor role, “The Hunger Games” is for you. Donald Sutherland does a great job playing the bad guy.

I went to see this movie, not knowing what to expect. the movie takes place in the future in a place called Panem. There has been some cataclysmic even that destroyed much of North America. Our heroine, Katness Aberdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) lives in District 12 which is the old Appalachia. There are dirty miners coming home from work, ramshackle houses, and a gate that keeps everyone inside.

Our main character is a strong 16-year old teenage girl. She’s a little rough around the edges, but you know she’s downright beautiful, smart, and courageous. She’s brave enough to go under the  fence that is supposed to keep everyone in their own district. She has the admiration of a very good-looking male teenager who is her friend. Katness is really good with her bow and arrow and hunts wild game to keep her family going. (This is against the law).

The way this new civilization keeps the peace is by having “Hunger Games” every year.  There are 12 districts, and the civilization is being punished for a rebellion in which a 13 th district was destroyed. Each district picks two volunteers, a boy and a girl, to fight it out in the city. Only one can be a winner.

The rest of the movie takes place in the wealthy capital where the contestants get makeovers, stay in plush surroundings and finally fight it out. They place tracking devices inside the contestants so everyone can watch the killing on TV.

I won’t tell you who wins. You’ll have to figure that one out by seeing the movie. There is a unique twist, one you wouldn’t expect.

It’s not so far from today’s society where people watch other people’s lives on TV to get a vicarious thrill. I’m talking about the Reality shows that are not really reality, but are orchestrated.  (Not to mention how we’re all needy and watch “news” 24 hours a day.)

This movie has everything you need to hold your interest: a good plot, romance, good acting, excitement, good-looking kids and it keeps you guessing about what is going to happen next.

Unfortunately, it leaves you hanging a little. I guess that’s because they’re coming up with another movie next November.

The only thing I questioned was parents bringing their kids to see this? Wouldn’t this scare them, or are we so used to violence that this is no big deal?  It is PG13, but I saw children much younger than this at the movie.

What’s your opinion?

Do you think people should bring their young children to this movie?

I’m not sure on how far we can go with subject matter without being offended? I guess I was, just a little.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games leaves me craving for more

  1. I’ve read all three books and mostly enjoyed them. I recommend you read them and you’ll have a slightly different perspective on the overall story. I will probably see the movie(s) because I am interested in how true to the books they are. As for kids, I think it depends on the kid. My best friend has two daughters who are nine and 11 and they both read the books (as did my friend) and she took them to see the movie based on conversations and discussions they’d already had, and knowing that her kids are relatively mature for their ages.

    • I plan on reading all the books! I went to the library to order “The Hunger Games” and I was 2934 on the list, so I guess I’ll buy it! The movie was good because I am still thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

