Do you think Cursive writing is important?


The English alphabet, both upper and lower cas...

The English alphabet, both upper and lower case letters, written in D'Nealian cursive. The grey arrows indicate the starting position for each letter. For letters which are written using more than one stroke, grey numbers indicate the order in which the lines are drawn. The green tails on the front of several of the letters are for connecting them to the previous letter; if these letters are used to begin a word the green portion is omitted. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m taking my idea for this post from a Facebook friend who was bemoaning the fact that they’re not teaching Cursive writing in schools anymore.

She contended that it was an important part of the learning process. I think it’s more like an art form. I use it because it is faster than printing, but I’m not sure anyone else could read it.

When I was Substitute teaching several years ago, I noticed that hardly any of the High School kids were writing their papers in Cursive writing. They either printed, or used a cross between Cursive and Print writing.

I thought this was a curious thing and asked some of them why they weren’t using Cursive writing.

Their answer usual was that they used the computer for most things, and if they took notes they could print pretty fast. Others said they never learned it. So, I guess they haven’t been teaching it for a while.

When I was an Elementary School Teacher, I remember one parent who was so focused on his child’s poor handwriting that he couldn’t acknowledge his child’s numerous strengths. I’m sure that child grew up to be a success in life. I’m betting he uses his computer for almost everything.

I think as time goes on, paper and pencils will become obsolete. I know when I go into an Apple Store for instruction and ask for paper, they are hard pressed to find any. Maybe it’s already a paperless world and I just don’t know it.

Why fight progress?

Just because things change, does it mean things are worse? I don’t think kids today are less bright than we were. I think they just do things in a different way.

What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Do you think Cursive writing is important?

  1. Yes time does change things. Every generation has had some new thing to add to the dismay of the previous generation. I caught a brief story on the news the other night that was addressing this issue. The woman featured said that she insisted all the family members hand write letters to family at least once a week. Then she would mail them off. The older people who recieved them could not express the joy they felt. I am just happy to decipher some of the texting shortcuts!

Leave a Reply

