What are appropriate manners on Facebook?


facebook

facebook (Photo credit: sitmonkeysupreme)

Today, I decided to read Sunday’s newspaper. Since the news is so old by the time I get it anyway, I guess it doesn’t matter if I read it on Sunday or Monday.

One of the columns that always amuses me is written by Judith Martin, who calls herself “Miss Manners.” I don’t know if Ms. Martin intends to be funny, but at times I find her column quite amusing. Her style of writing is a little unusual.

I can see her sitting in her palatial mansion writing her column. I’m wondering if she lives in an exclusive gated community.

I usually read this column because I find it amusing, but occasionally, I find an answer to a question I’ve been wondering about. It gets me thinking about 21st century behavior.

I found one of the questions concerning manners on the internet interesting. Somebody mentioned that on Facebook, people comment on parties some of their “Facebook Friends” have given. The reader who submitted the question mentioned that being left out of the party makes her feel dejected.

The reader was bringing up a good point. As children, we all learn that it is not polite to talk about a gathering you’ve had in front of other people who haven’t been invited.

I have noticed that this type of activity does go on.

Miss Manners thinks the “online boors” should be pitied. (See what I mean?)

Do you think someone else should write an etiquette book about manners online? For all I know, they already have.

Is it appropriate to send thank you notes, birthday cards, and sympathy cards online?

Does anyone out there, still write handwritten notes?

Do you think manners have gone downhill, or just changed?

I have a feeling that people my age, have a totally different feeling about this than younger people.

I’d love to hear from both. Comments?

4 thoughts on “What are appropriate manners on Facebook?

  1. Hmm… I recently attended a wedding where only one gift was brought to the wedding. The bride and groom had a website where guests could help them buy their honeymoon. An electronic card option made the whole gift-giving simple. This gave me pause, but in the end, I decided it was not unlike a gift registry, just very limited in scope. Still, should I have delivered a card? If I did, would they have expected it to contain a check. (I did get a hand written thank you for my electronic generosity.)

    I get a kick out of Miss Manners, too. I picture her in white gloves and a pillbox hat.

Leave a Reply

