Beach Boys Publicize New Summer Tour and Album


I was reading USA Today and found an article publicizing a 50th year anniversary Beach Boy Tour. The surviving Beach Boys going on tour are:  Mike Love, Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston and David Marks.

Some of us connect our younger years to some of their Hits: I get Around, Little Surfer Girl, Help me Rhonda, Good Vibrations, and In My Room. There’s so many more!

I thought Brian Wilson was still in his room somewhere in California. Now I find out he is taking a tour with the guys who took him to court years ago. Not only that, but they’re coming out with another album.

I still miss Dennis Wilson. He was the cute blonde drummer. He didn’t make it through the 60’s and 70’s. He was a hopeless alcoholic and drug addict who drowned in a boating accident years ago. So much for fame and fortune. Maybe it isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. If you want to read an interesting  biography read: Dennis Wilson: The Real Beach Boy by John Stebbins.

It’s encouraging to know Brian Wilson has been able to overcome drug addiction, and mental illness to get his act together. He’s even contributing to the album coming out this summer! You can be sure I will buy it. I might even try to attend a concert near me.

I still remember when they became popular. I was 12 or 13. I  remember dancing under the stars to their music.

The fact that they left middle-age, much less boyhood, behind years ago is inspiring. It means that there is hope for us all. It also means there’s no excuse to throw in the towel just cause you’re a little worn around the edges.

They also prove that it’s never too late to kiss and make up.  They all took each to court over money and contracts. They managed to forgive each other. How many people can do that? It should be a lesson to us all.

Brian Wilson

Brian Wilson (Photo credit: Burns!)

Surf on Beach Boys!

What’s your favorite memory of listening to the  Beach Boys?

3 thoughts on “Beach Boys Publicize New Summer Tour and Album

  1. I liked the Beach Boys, but was more of a Beatles type of girl. I must have listened to “Rubber Soul” a million times when I was a freshman in high school (and this was before headphones). Must have driven my parents nuts!

Leave a Reply

