Prejudice is alive and well


Today I went to my health club. When I got into the sauna there were two men spewing prejudice . One was black and the other was white. They were really getting excited.

I couldn’t believe what they were saying. They were both talking about how they resent the Somalian people who live in Columbus. There’s quite a large population living here.

” I hate those darn Somalian’s ,”said the black guy. ” They’re so stupid. And they’re pirates too. They’re so stupid that they got shot instead of giving up the boat they pirated,” he added.

“Yeah, if I ever see one I’d shoot him on the spot,” said the white guy.

” The Somalians I’ve met are industrious people who work hard. I go to the library a lot, and I share the study room with a lot of them.  Besides, you shouldn’t categorize people. It’s dangerous to do that. It’s called prejudice,” I said.

” Industrious, right,” said the black man.

“Well, they get $10,000 just to live here,” piped up another guy.

“Yeah, I wished I’d get $10,000 just to show up,” said another.

At that point, I decided to vacate the premises. I didn’t want to get into it with people who were talking about shooting other people.

So, if you think prejudice isn’t still alive and well, guess again.

What would you have done?

5 thoughts on “Prejudice is alive and well

  1. I find to hard to catagorize a race, profession, religion, sex, etc. Each person needs to stand on their own merit. Yes, unfortunately prejudicce is still alive and well in our world however.

  2. I think you handled that very well Barb. You spoke your mind and then left when it was apparent that you were wasting your breath. Racism runs rife everywhere and among all people. Sad but true.

Leave a Reply

