Why My Life is Sweeter with my GPS


Mapquest adds bike directions

Mapquest adds bike directions (Photo credit: Richard Masoner / Cyclelicious)

I don’t know about you, but my GPS has become one of my best friends. It is one freeing item. I just turn it on and it will direct me to my destination. I just listen to it, but that works fine.

I used Mapquest for a while and I thought that was the greatest invention since sliced bread. However, holding the directions and driving at the same time might not have been the best thing to do. Besides, it didn’t account for roadblocks, and incessant orange barrels. One thing they do in Columbus, Ohio, is rebuild the roads. I guess I’d complain if they didn’t.

Imagine my dismay when my GPS stopped working. I was one lost puppy. I started using mapquest again. Which is a good thing, but doesn’t account for the never-ending road closings and detours that I’ve faced lately.

So, finally I called  the Target warranty center,  and found out there’s an update I have to install to get it to work. If your Tom Tom GPS is saying it can’t locate the signal, that’s why! If you need to fix it, go to http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6964.

Okay, I expect to get frustrated doing this, so I’ll call their help line. I’m not going to even attempt it by myself.

All this tech stuff drives me a bit crazy. I guess older brains aren’t just wired up to handle the whole thing. Maybe I ought to find an eight or nine-year old to help me. I’m amazed at how tuned in kids are to all this stuff.

Nevertheless,  I’m really happy that the GPS exists, and I can use it.

How about you? Do you have problems plugging into the modern world? What do you like about it? What don’t you like about it?

One thought on “Why My Life is Sweeter with my GPS

Leave a Reply

