How to keep off 20 pounds: Move more!


Gym

Gym (Photo credit: ivywoodavenue)

Although I go up and down in my weight, I have managed to keep off 20 pounds in the last few years. Okay, I need to lose 40 more. I have started a weight loss blog. Here is an example of one of my posts! If you want to get to it, it’s barbaralynnabel.wordpress.com. It’s called Losing the Last 40 Pounds. I may have to rename it because there’s about 40, 000 blogs with the same title!

I do talk about some of my emotional issues which has a lot to do with being overweight.

Elliptical machine: I love this machine. It’s great. You can adjust it to as hard as you want, you can keep track of your heartbeat, and there’s several workouts you can choose. I just listen to my I-Pod and let it rip.

arm and leg machines: if you belong to a gym, go to the basic machines. Put it on the lowest pounds, or where you feel comfortable, to start. Do 2 sets of 12 on arms, and 3 sets of 15 on legs. Ask the exercise guys and girls to help. That’s what they’re getting paid for. (Although they would like to personal train you.) Most gyms give you a complimentary workout to start! If you’ve got the $$, use the personal trainers. At least do it once or twice, so you really learn how to properly use the machines.

yoga classes: almost anyone can do something in yoga. They emphasize not to compete against others.

spinning: that’s a stationary bike class, and I love it. You can set the bike anywhere you want it, and they usually listen to music. One time, I watched an entire movie while spinning.

I also have a bike I bought a couple of years ago. I named it “Freedom”. I still get on it and tool around the neighborhood. It’s a good way to start the day. Sometimes I’ll go 4 or 5 miles, and sometimes less. I think I may look very entertaining going through the neighborhood.

Water aerobics has become my favorite because I’m a little older, and it can really get the heartbeat up. I think it works great. Lift those weights too. It does wonders for a lot of people. Just because it’s not torture doesn’t mean it’s not working.

I do have a tendency to get down-in-the-dumps, and exercise really nips this in the bud. Maybe, that’s why I like it so much!  I might feel crummy when I start my exercise session, but never do when I’m finished. This only takes me about an hour to feel the relief. It releases those endorphins— feel good chemicals in your brain.

Try it, you’ll like it!

Tell me some of your favorite activities.

Leave a Reply

