My Obsessive Collections on TLC: The Doll Collector


Now I’ve seen everything, Obsessive Collections on TLC. The show I watched features a woman with an extensive shoe collection, a boy who collects and repairs vacuum cleaners, two overly obsessive Dolly Parton fans and a woman who collects real life-like dolls.

The woman who collects life-like dolls impressed me as being the oddest one of tonight’s collectors.  She has tons of dolls, and a whole group that look life-like. She is passionate about the whole thing. She has a doll that looks like a 5-year old that she took to a shoe store . She asked the salesperson to fit the doll with a pair of shoes.

What I did admire was her husband’s support of this odd habit. He actually took a picture of her opening a box of a doll that mimics breathing. She was as excited as if she was giving birth.

He must really love this woman because she spends big bucks on these dolls. About $1,000.00 a piece. Coincidentally, the woman looks a lot like Dolly Parton.

Her kids tolerate the whole thing too. It’s more than a little disturbing. She actually spends time, dressing them, cleaning them up and interacting with them. It makes her feel maternal. Maybe she ought to try volunteering with real kids who need attention.

On the other hand, she is not hurting anyone with this habit, and her family supports her.

I have seen plenty of people who don’t treat their pets like animals, but like their kids. Is this that different?

Okay, I like dolls myself. That’s 2 of my childhood dolls I can’t throw out in the picture. But, I’ve always known they’re not real. (Okay, I posed them in front of the fireplace, and took their picture. It was for an earlier post that you’re welcome to read.)

What do you think?

3 thoughts on “My Obsessive Collections on TLC: The Doll Collector

  1. Hi. I am a doll collector and I just wrote a post about how this hobby, and the people who do it, are perceived. I’m liking your tolerant attitude – you are quite right, doll collectors are often escapists and dreamers, but it’s all pretty harmless stuff. Just so you know – don’t talk to them, do sometimes wander round the garden taking pictures of them 🙂 best wishes

    • I think I could be a doll collector if I had the money to spend on it. Another reason for me to stay away from it is because too much stuff confuses me. But, I can understand it!

      • Yes, empty purse and full house tend to follow, sigh. Like any hobby, its a matter of putting the breaks on. There are a small number of people who just can’t, the same as with anything. Anyhoo, best wishes and thanks for interesting post.

Leave a Reply

