World War II Monument in Washington, DC


 

Ww2a

Ww2a (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday, I saw the World War II monument in Washington, D.C. It was a night, so it was a little more haunting. It is masterfully lit up.

It is something fantastic. There are  water fountains, memorials to all the states, and some intricate sculptures depicting the battles on both fronts: the Pacific and the European.  I would’ve spent hours just looking at the little intricate sculptures.

I thought it was an appropriate memorial to these people, and it’s a good thing they were willing to sacrifice their lives, or where would we be now?

It’s too bad it took so long to put up the memorial since many of them have already passed on.

One of my reactions was: is this glorifying war? But, of course, we have to honor people who died. That’s what a memorial is supposed to be. It’s incredibly sad that people are still dying every day on our behalf.

I suppose war is just something that people do to solve problems. It seems so ridiculous that in the 21st century it’s still going on today. How often do we think of the men and women dying in Afghanistan?

I don’t think it’s as clear-cut today as it was during WWII. It hasn’t been clear-cut since the Korean War, or the Vietnam War.

What do you think? Should we put up elaborate memorials celebrating the heroes who died? Is war going to be part of humanity as long as humanity survives? Is peace around the world an impossible dream?

What do you think?

One thought on “World War II Monument in Washington, DC

  1. I would love to think that war will become a thing of the past, but I realy don’t see that as a reality in my lifetime. I would love to hope that eventually the negotiation skills improve and egos of man get put in check, but I don’t see that as a reality in my lifetime. What I do see happening is a continued awareness of our interconnectivity. This is important to the balance of nature. Fingers crossed for the next generation.

Leave a Reply

