Bill Mahr—Love him or hate him?


I put a blurb on Facebook saying I was going to usher at a Bill Mahr appearance in Columbus, Ohio.  I was putting it there to notify my daughter that the concert didn’t conflict with a birthday party she was throwing.

I couldn’t believe the reaction I got to that little comment. People either hate this guy or they love him. I find him very funny. He cracks me up. In these times, we all need a little humor.

Personally, I just loved his movie on religion, Religulous (2008) – IMDb. It made sense to me. But, I know it offended a lot of people. I guess it all depends on where you stand on religion. If you are a  very religious person, and don’t want to question your faith, don’t see this movie.

It just typifies what is going on in this country now. How is this constant quarreling ever going to end?

What mystifies me is how people can listen to the same speeches, be in the same circumstances and have such different reactions.

If you believe in freedom of speech it shouldn’t matter who says what. And I have to say I’m really intolerant to the Fox Station. I feel it’s nothing but an anti-Obama propaganda machine. I’ve felt that way since he’s taken office on the first day. They never gave him a chance.

Cover of "Religulous"

Cover of Religulous

I don’t remember a time when people differed so much in their political views.

I thought it would all end when Barack Obama got elected. But, now it’s worse than ever.

Do you think it will ever end?.

The only thing I can do is not watch TV, listen to the radio, or talk to people who don’t share my point of view.

This could prove to be very tricky in my situation. I do have friends and relatives that do not share my point of view. But, I love them just the same.

I, for one, do not believe in censorship. Everyone has the right to see, hear or watch whatever they want. Then, they can make up their own minds.

I guess it all makes life more interesting.

Post Script: I don’t get to go because my aunt is celebrating her 90th birthday, a much more important event.

One thought on “Bill Mahr—Love him or hate him?

Leave a Reply

