Remembering those Special Times Can Bring You Joy


Happy Family

Happy Family (Photo credit: goto10)

I decided to make a list of the moments in life I treasure.  You know, the happy times in your life. Even in the most miserable of lives, there has to be moments to treasure. I like to think about these moments every once in a while. It brings me a little bit of joy!

One of those moments includes being alone with my parents when I was about 6. I remember holding their hands, and being lifted in the air. My husband and I later did it with our  own children. And I saw a little girl at Cedar Falls being given the same treatment the other day.

Not one of those moments had anything to do with getting something materialistic.

It all had to do with family and love— Giving love, or being loved.  Or helping someone else.

Why do we think things will make us happy? If they do, it’s only for a  few minutes.  Get a new car, it might make you feel good for a week or two. By the time the new car smells wears off Then, the newness wears off, and that’s the end of it.

Of course we need to get our basic needs me, food, shelter, and clothing.

A lot of it has to do with helping other people, or making them happy.

Just something to think about….

You have any special moments you’d like to share?

3 thoughts on “Remembering those Special Times Can Bring You Joy

  1. I used to be involved in a band. There was one lady who had a voice from the angelic choir, but she was too shy to sing. One night at practice, she came to listen. I said that I was under the weather and asked if she would mind stepping in for me. I was lead vocal. She blushed and fussed but did eventually jump in. Her mic was turned up so we could hear her, but eventually she got into it and man, did she shine! About a week later and a half later, she led the show at a mission we were singing at. That was a special night.

Leave a Reply

