The Twilight Zone: A Classic Series. What was your favorite?


1959 Series Logo

1959 Series Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you’re a baby boomer, or older, you remember the old Twilight Zone series. It was great writing, and acting. Most of them even hold up today. It was a lot more subtle than the scary stuff of today. Like vampires, vampires, and more vampires.

I enjoyed  the twist in the stories. It seems like Rod Serling, the producer, was trying to tell us what was important by scaring us to death. I’ll still watch the old series on the  Sci-fi  channel. Rarely, do I find one I haven’t really seen before. When I do, I am delighted!

One Twilight Zone episode I particularly remember is one where a man dies and he thinks he goes to heaven. He gets all the girls he wants, wins at gambling, and gets everything he ever wanted in life.

What do you think happens?

If you ever saw that episode you remember that he is bored. Life isn’t fun anymore.

Guess where he is?

That’s right. He’s not in heaven. He’s in Hell.

That particular episode starred Sebastian Cabot as the devil!  I guess I remember it distinctly because I was a little girl when I saw it, and his laugh scared the Hell out of me! I was only about 8, and up after hours.

But, I thought about it when I didn’t get something I wanted. If life was always easy, it wouldn’t be any fun. I know that’s hard to believe, but I think it’s true.

What’s your favorite old Twilight Zone episode, or science fiction episode, and what did you learn from it?

Rod Serling (with shadow on pink bkgrd)

Rod Serling (with shadow on pink bkgrd) (Photo credit: csc1950)

4 thoughts on “The Twilight Zone: A Classic Series. What was your favorite?

  1. Definitely the one about Talking Tina, the doll who wouldn’t die!…..eesh. I still can’t sleep with dolls in the room.

  2. I liked the one with Robert Duvall when he becomes obsessed with the dollhouse in the window. He sees a beautiful life going on, one far preferable to his own in the real world, and ultimately is taken into the dollhouse to live. Think about it often when reality intrudes on my inner peace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

