Extreme Makeover Weight Loss: Mike’s Story


Tonight, I watched Extreme Makeover Weight Loss. This is the TV show that follows a very obese person for a year.  I occasionally watch these programs to inspire myself to lose weight. It’s kind of like attending a Weight Watchers meeting.

We have the adorable personal trainer, Chris, who picks a person to work with for a year. He tortures them in the gym. He makes them lift weights, run, and want to scream bloody murder.  He makes them move their fat all over the place. Despite all the hardship he puts them through, they usually end up being best buds with him.

What I found truly inspirational about Mike’s story was his family.  They all pledged to lose weight right along with him. They did it too! That is real love.

How did he get so fat? He was a shy guy, and  spent a lot of time in front of his computer, TV  and turned to food for comfort. Sound familiar?

One of Mike’s goals was to run a triathlon. Eventually, after losing gobs of weight, he gets to the point where he can attempt it. Cute Chris runs right with him. Mike struggles and struggles, but finally makes it across the finish line. Talk about an extreme race. I was glad he didn’t have a heart attack.  But, we love to watch him triumph, so what’s better than a triathlon?

Meanwhile, he’s met the first girlfriend of his life. Every time they show her, she’s crying because she’s so happy that Mike is in love with her.  I’m wondering why Mike is picking such an obese girl for his girlfriend. It doesn’t seem like she’d be good for him. After all, he’s going through agony so he’s not obese anymore. It’s kind of  like an alcoholic living with another alcoholic. Not such a great idea.

Time marches on, and Mike loses a whopping 232 pounds. He also has skin surgery, and looks fabulous at the weigh-in. He’s a hunk. His family has also lost weight too. Everyone is happy. Too make things even more glorious, Wal-Mart has supplied him with a $50,000 gift certificate. (Shouldn’t they give that to a hungry family?)

Epilogue

The next time we see Mike, it’s a couple of months later. He doesn’t look quite as buff as he did in the reveal. As a matter of fact, he looks like he’s put some weight back on. He dumped his girlfriend.

I hope he keeps the majority of his weight off. But the problem is, excess weight has more to do with emotions than it does to running marathons, or doing 400 push ups. Besides, who can keep up that training schedule?

Am I expressing sour grapes? Experiences with regaining weight after spending hundreds of dollars at Weight watchers? Watching so many people lose and regain weight?

But, it does inspire me, and I’ll watch the next episode.  After all,

My Weight Loss Coach

My Weight Loss Coach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

hope is eternal.

What do you think? Is the show exploitive or inspirational? Should we watch it? Is it a crime to be obese?

7 thoughts on “Extreme Makeover Weight Loss: Mike’s Story

  1. Hi and good morning,
    I can identify with the weight loss. It takes more than exercise and eating differently to lose weight. The most important thing is changing your mind. A mind change, meaning examining your emotions and why you react the way you do when you experience certain things. Along with that you have to be willing to forego the momentarily good feeling with eating to the higher emotional feeling of looking at yourself in the mirror and seeing yourself the way you want to be seen.
    Thank you for your encouragement. I have been losing weight since 2011 and have given myself 2 to 2 1/2 years to get to my desired weight.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  2. You are definitely right that by the end I wasn’t doing a very good job of keeping the weight off. Thankfully, in the last month I found recovery that I didn’t think was possible. You can read about it on my blog… maybe even share it with your readers. That would mean a lot to me. http://OnlyOneMike.com/blog/my-story

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and posting, I have a much greater story to tell, this episode is only the beginning. 🙂

    Many Blessings,
    Mike

    • Never in my wildest dreams did I think you would look at my post. You’re doing a great job!

      It’s never easy to keep the weight off. I ought to know, I’ve been doing it a long time.

      One way I have kept some of it (about 20 pounds off) is to exercise every day. Personally, I also do it because it raises my mood. I think people who don’t do this or make excuses are missing a great benefit!

      Your story is inspirational and I hope people go to your blog. It’s one way to stay motivated.

      Y

  3. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s
    both educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something which not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this during my search for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

