Experiencing Ikea for the first time


English: Logo of Ikea.

English: Logo of Ikea. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today I went to an Ikea store. It was shopping on another level.

First of all, I dislike shopping. I just don’t have the patience for it. Usually, if I’m going to shop, I know exactly what I want, go get it and leave as fast as I can.

Anyway, someone I know needed a lot of furniture,  so I went along for the ride. I thought it would be a good way for me to practice patience, and see something different.  I didn’t know I was going to step into another world.

The first thing I noticed was how enormous this place is; it’s like a little city. That made me cringe before I even walked in the door. I’m not big on big huge places. First of all, my sense of direction is not one of my best qualities. I don’t like to get lost. I knew I was in trouble when I noticed there were arrows pointing you to different departments.

There were little Swedish  sayings sprinkled throughout the store. It said, “Haj” when you walked in the door. It means something like “welcome.” It can’t hurt to increase your vocabulary, even if it’s in Swedish.

I did like the fact that there were places to eat. Where else can you get a hotdog for a dollar?  ( I heard a little boy tell his mom, “I need a hotdog right now.” )There was also a higher class cafe with regular food prices. Not only can you learn how to speak Swedish, you can eat the food: Swedish meatballs, and Norwegian salmon. They also have a nice variety of American food!

There were also a few toys  kids could play with scattered here and there. (A nice touch). Sort’ve like the smart phones all their parents are playing with while waiting in line.

I saw a lot of merchandise I would consider buying if I was going to furnish my house.  Since I’m in my sixties, this isn’t a priority in my life right now. I’m more interested in just having fun.

The furniture was pretty reasonably priced, and it had nice clean lines. That’s kind of my style—simple but stylish. Those Swedes know how to make furniture. I also liked the simple kitchen and bathroom cabinets displayed.

There were all kinds of people there. It was a hotbed of diversity, different ages and nationalities.   I saw women with very young infants nestled in front of them with clever little contraptions. I also saw pregnant women. The maternity clothes are very interesting, they aren’t trying to hide their motherly state. I guess that’s a good thing.

The cafe was pretty cool. Since this is a Swedish company, you could buy some Swedish food; Swedish meatballs, norwegian Salmon, and just regular wraps and food. The desserts looked terrific. Also they sold Swedish chocolate

After you get what you want, you have to go down to a place to order the stuff. You put it in a computer, print out the list, and take it over to a worker.  He or she gives you the choice to pick it out yourself, have someone else pick it out, and then get it delivered.  The reason the stuff is so reasonable is because once you buy it, you have to put it together. (They do have referrals of others who will put it together if this isn’t your strong point.)

After I was done with this place, I was exhausted. Too big, and too much merchandise.
If I do feel the need for some stuff for my house, I will definitely go to this place. (They are not everywhere, I’d have to go to Cincinnati, Ohio.)

Do any of you like Ikea merchandise? Are there really people who put themselves through this turmoil for fun? Should we go shop at a store that is Swedish instead of American?

What do you think?

English: IKEA exit When you've had enough shop...

English: IKEA exit When you’ve had enough shopping, there’s always the exit. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One thought on “Experiencing Ikea for the first time

  1. Pingback: HIGH-KEA |

Leave a Reply

