A trip to the Smithsonian: I liked the First Ladies’ Dresses!


Smithsonian American History Museum

Smithsonian American History Museum (Photo credit: ttarasiuk)

Kermit

Kermit (Photo credit: Eva Rinaldi Celebrity and Live Music Photographer)

Flag that floated over Fort McHenry in 1814.

President Barack Obama and the First Lady Mich...
President Barack Obama and the First Lady Michelle Obama dancing at the “Obama Home States Inaugural Gala.” The event took place at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last week,  I went to the Smithsonian American History Museum in Washington, DC.  Every time I go there, I like to see The Star Spangled Banner display. It’s the actual flag that flew over Fort McHenry. They changed it around because the flag is starting to get really tattered. You can’t even take flash pictures of it anymore.

Being a child of the 50’s I like to be reminded of all the popular culture stuff  from my childhood. Everyone does like Kermit! And Dorothy’s red shoes.  Gene Autry and Dale Evans? Mouseketeers? Did you have a pair of those ears?

Being an old girly-girl, I enjoy the  display of the  First  Lady’s dresses. I wasn’t the only female looking at  them. While  many men looked at all the War stuff, the ladies were looking at the dresses. I had to wait in line.  Michelle Obama’s  gown was my favorite!  Whether you like her or not, she has got style! (i do like her.)

I did look at some of the war stuff too, although I like to honor veterans, I always feel it so unfortunate that innocent people have to die. Like we used to say, “put all the politicians and leaders into battle, and see how long it lasts.”

Here are some of my favorite pictures from my visit today!

What are your favorite things from the olden days.

