Freeloaders at Restaurants: What do you think?


Meal Tickets

Meal Tickets (Photo credit: Joe Shlabotnik)

Today, when I went out to eat, I saw some guy get his bill reduced in the most obnoxious way possible.

He ate his meal with gusto, then when the waiter came by, he said, “I found this string in my meal? What is it? After the server answered him, he made a big issue of it, and then demanded to see the manager. You know what happened next. They took it off his bill. He even had the nerve to ask for a “to go box.”

We used to have “friends” who did this every time they went out to eat. Either something was wrong with the soup, or the meal wasn’t quite right. It took me a while to figure out they were just trying to get items taken off their bill. They didn’t last long as friends.

I’m betting the guy in the restaurant goes around and puts objects in his meals after he eats them.
I find this kind of behavior really low-class and extremely annoying.  I even gave him a dirty look. Probably not the smartest thing since he was well over 6 ft and bulky.

I let the server know that my meal was absolutely “delicious.”

3 thoughts on “Freeloaders at Restaurants: What do you think?

  1. Hi,
    Thank you and I am glad you gave him a stern look.
    However, I don’t think this is low class, i think it is downright arrogant. Many people who tend to have much forget where they came from or that they are humans also. They have this idea they stand above everyone else. When a person thinks this, he does such things as you have just described. I have rarely seen people from a lower class acting in this manner.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    • Hi,
      Thank you for clearing up what you meant by low class. I must admit the word was confusing to me, because I came out of a low economic class but we were taught excellent manners by our parents and also taught to respect others.
      I really enjoyed the artilce and left comments yesterday evening, but I hesitated on hitting like because of the word low-class. Now that I know what you mean, I feel comfortable with hitting the like button.
      Once again, thanks.
      Ciao,
      Patricia

Leave a Reply

