Going to Myrtle Beach? Don’t miss “One” at The Alabama Theatre


If you’re vacationing at Myrtle Beach and want to see some first-class entertainment, do I have a show for you!

It’s called “One”, and it’s showcased at the beautiful “Alabama Theater”. The theater was opened by the famous  country group, Alabama. It’s a beautiful theatre.

I would suggest buying tickets on the main floor. Although you can see from the balcony, the main floor makes it more intimate.

Flag of City of Myrtle Beach

Flag of City of Myrtle Beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not that much of a country music fan, and I picked this venue because it promised a little bit of everything, and it delivered. There was: country, Broadway, Motown, a smidgen of gospel, and a little Rock-n-roll.

I wasn’t expecting the great entertainment featured there. I didn’t know all the performers had terrific resumes. Greg Rowles, the musical emcee, was a Star Search winner, and has gotten national recreation. I guess singing at the Vatican, and repeatedly starring at the Grand Ole Opry qualifies him.

There are 25 members of the cast, they are all  mega-talented. The band was fantastic!  Everyone sang and danced expertly.

It started out with a comedian, Grant Turner, who I thought was going to be a 0 when he started. Guess what? He was a 10. He made me laugh aloud. It was g-rated humor too. How refreshing is that?

My highlights: A scene from “Wicked”. I’ve seen the actual musical several times, and the people starring in this were just as good if not better. The witch even flew!

A song from “Les Miserable” by Steven Michael Gannon who actually did the part for 4 years. “Bring Him Home” brought tears to my eyes.

The singer, Gail Bliss, did “Crazy” by Patsy Cline. (It’s one of my husband’s favorites, so I was familiar with it.) She did an excellent job. I guess this is one of her specialties. She was super-talented and did other numbers throughout the show!

They did a tribute to Frank Sinatra, and it was good. Although I’m too young to really have been much of a Sinatra fan, I knew all the songs. It was enjoyable.

I really enjoyed the Motown tribute. I am plenty old enough to know every song they sang. There was a super dance tribute to Michael Jackson.

The costumes, and the sets were just amazing. They projected great stuff on huge screens behind the cast members when they were performing.

The ending was quite patriotic. It was a little schmaltzy,  but I enjoyed it anyway. I liked the patriotic songs they picked to sing!

This production equals anything I’ve seen on Broadway or Las Vegas.

It’s a bargain for the $ 30.00 to $40.00 tickets.

There website is http://www.alabama-theatre.com.

Leave a Reply

