Feeling my age: I related to AARP Magazine


200

200 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been getting AARP magazine free of charge since I’ve been 50. I’m now 62. I finally opened it up and started reading it.

I found it interesting. I could relate to every single article. Now, that is frightening. However,  I don’t think I’m ready for the 24 hour alarm thing that you wear around your neck in case you fall over and can’t get up.

I think people would still say I died young if I dropped over tomorrow. So, there is still some quality life left to live.

Does that mean I’m officially a senior citizen? I guess I’ve been one for a while, but just didn’t want to admit it to myself.

In this society, it is not cool to be older. And that’s too bad.  At least I’m not alone. There’s a lot of baby boomers, so why haven’t we managed to make it a popular thing? Maybe, because none of us wants to admit they’re old.

When did I first realize people looked at me differently?

I’m trying to remember the first time I had an inkling I wasn’t a 20, 30, or 40 something. I think it was when I was substitute teaching. The kids started asking me how old I was, and when I told them they looked shocked. Some comments included “when are you going to retire?”

I noticed the teachers in the teacher’s lounge looked like they were  my kid’s ages.  (That’s because they were.)

Maybe it was when the parking attendant called me “ma’am” for the first time. When I chastised him, he said, “ma’am my mother taught me to be polite to my elders.

Maybe it was when my kids started asking me to get my hearing checked. The times they started giving me unsolicited advice. (I don’t mind, they’re pretty wise for their ages).

I knew I was in trouble when I was in line for a job, and one of the other people applying offered me a seat. She said something like, “I’m so sorry, I should’ve offered this to you 10 minutes ago.  That was at least 10 or 15 years ago. Time gets blurry, the older you get.

When I was 40, I appeared on a call- in radio show for an hour.  The DJ made me an hour-long guest because he thought I was funny to be bemoaning the fact that I was turning 40.  Now I completely get it.

So, now what?
I’m thinking I should go on an adventure trip while I can still walk fast.  I heard the senior hostel trips are fun.

Maybe it’s time to admit, I’m older, and I’m lucky I haven’t bitten the dust. I’m in pretty good health, so I better start living it up. I actually feel as good as I ever did. (Maybe the secret is going to the gym, swimming aerobics, and walking! )

But, I still can’t walk into a senior citizens center. Not yet.

Any advice for having a rip-roaring time after 60? Any good adventure trips?

Leave a Reply

