911: Should they stop reading all the names every year?


911 was very frightening to me.   I was teaching in a school, and the parents, teachers and kids were petrified. They let the kids watch what was going on all day, and I didn’t think that was necessary. I figured it would scare them even more.

People were rushing to the school to take their kids home. A lot of the people in the district were in the armed services, and this effected them even more.

I seriously was not sure about The World Trade Center. I did know that someone else had bombed it. I had no idea about how many people worked there. Two of my children had toured the place earlier in the year. What if they’d picked September 11?

After I heard the Pentagon got bombed, I really wondered if this was it. Was the world going to come to an end? Weren’t we all wondering that?

Every September 11 they read the big list of all the victims

Should they read every single name aloud at the ceremonies?
One of my friends on Facebook  ( Lisa)  brought up a good point.  Why should the families have to hear every single name? Doesn’t that make it even harder on them every year?

If I’d lost anyone, I’d think I’d want their name to be called every year. I think their families would find it comforting to listen to their names called on the anniversary. (Even if they have to wait to hear it.)

What do you think?

Thank you Lisa for the idea for this post.

English: World Trade Center, New York, aerial ...

English: World Trade Center, New York, aerial view March 2001. Français : Le World Trade Center à New York. Vue aérienne datant de mars 2001. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Where were you on 911? How did it impact you?

One thought on “911: Should they stop reading all the names every year?

Leave a Reply

