I was caught looking my age: A humorous look (I might as well find the humor in it)


Time sure have changed since the year I was 20 3/4 and tried to get into a nightclub in Florida.  The guy letting people in the club, challenged my age. He thought I was way under 21. He might have been referring to my lack of cleavage. I was wearing what I thought was a sexy dress.

Not to mention the time, I got in at a ski slope place in Canada for under age 16. (I was 25). By that time, I was happy to be mistaken for a kid.

Now I am in my 60‘s. I remember thinking how ancient I thought my mother was at that age. Truth be told, she looked a lot better than I do now. (I have the photos to prove it.)  She was always a consistent size 12. And she smiled a lot. At least in her photos.

Okay, I don’t bother wearing makeup on my daily outings. I figure if my husband doesn’t wear makeup, why should I?  And I’m thinking, why hide underneath it? I did go out of the house today in a hurry. So, maybe my hair wasn’t at its best.  I didn’t even bother with a little lipstick.

I went to McDonald’s, and the lady behind the counter said, “How about a senior drink?”  I didn’t even ask. I didn’t even know they offered such things. (At McDonald’s).

After feeling like crap after eating junk food, I decided to go to a movie. I love to sit in dark movie theaters where (hopefully)  nobody knows me.  To me, this is the ultimate escape. It always helps if the movie is entertaining.

So, what do you think the guy behind the counter asked me before I paid for my movie ticket?  That’s right. He asked,  “Ma’am do you want a senior ticket?”

Two offers of a discount because of my true appearance within two hours.

By the way, the movie I saw was one of those modern movies that has an ambiguous ending. Maybe I’m too old to get it. I did still realize the star of the movie had amazing beautiful blue eyes.  I saw him in another movie. I’m sorry to say, I don’t know his name. (Signs of age)

So it was a completely frustrating day, and did not fulfill my need to briefly escape. I guess there’s no getting away from your authentic self. I do think that’s what the movie was about. But, I’m not sure.

A word to the wise: If you’re in a position of offering a senior a discount, wait until they ask for it. 

They might not save any money, but at least they’ll think they still look under 55. A good ego booster.

 In this society, even the older people, don’t like old age. I figured by this time, we’d have figured out a way to make it desirable. After all, there are a lot of us. Most of the time I don’t think about it. That is, until someone points it out to me.

Have you ever been insulted because of your age? Mistaken for too young or too old? Tell me about it.

3 thoughts on “I was caught looking my age: A humorous look (I might as well find the humor in it)

  1. I think there’s a difference between men and women aging….my dad could not wait to turn 55 so he could get all discounts!!! My mom is like you…she would get offended when Kohl’s automatically gave her the senior discount on Tuesdays!!!

  2. Thanks for commenting. Yes, there is a difference between men and women aging. However, some men like to pretend they can do everything they could at 16. But, it is more acceptable for them to get gray hair.

Leave a Reply

