Not agreeing on politics with your spouse


James Carville

James Carville (Photo credit: jdlasica)

It would be so nice if my husband and I agreed on politics. But we don’t.

When I want to see my candidate, I have to go by myself. When he wants to see his candidate I won’t go with him.

We don’t like political movies because we can’t agree. He’s seen my choice, and hasn’t changed his mind. I’ve seen his choice, and haven’t changed mine.

It’s been this way for 40 years, so you figure maybe one of us would’ve switched our positions. But it’s not the case.

I can’t wait for this election to be over, either way. Naturally, I hope my candidate wins. Whatever the outcome, one of us is going to be upset.

But it doesn’t stop with the election. After the election, we keep putting down the candidate if  he  isn’t from our party.  We even watch two different  cable news stations. We think the other’s station is biased. (Of course, that’s true). I guess it just depends on your point of view.

I am impressed with James Carville and his wife, Mary Matalin.

Mary Matalin

Mary Matalin (Photo credit: jdlasica)

At least they seem to have it together. Carville is the Democrat and his wife is a Republican. I wonder if they argue a lot, or just avoid talking about it.

I saw two different yard signs in front of a house.

One was for Romney and the other one was from Obama. I figure they might be a couple with differing political leanings.

I guess if we lived in a dictatorship we wouldn’t have this problem. But, I’m glad we live in America where everyone can make up their own mind.

After all, I guess differences is what makes life more interesting. But, sometimes it would be a lot easier if we agreed.

Anyone else have this problem?

Please comment.

One thought on “Not agreeing on politics with your spouse

Leave a Reply

