The Circleville Pumpkin Show: Pumpkins galore!


Pumpkin Pie from a *real* pumpkin.

Pumpkin Pie from a *real* pumpkin. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: The Circleville Water Tower, one of t...

English: The Circleville Water Tower, one of the symbols of this Ohio city. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is a pumpkin show?

It’s a show showcasing Circleville pumpkins, gourds, and the people who grow them.

On the way to the pumpkin show, you might even spot some of the fall trees that are so gorgeous this Fall.  Today was a spectacular day!

My first official date with my husband in 1971 was at The Circleville Pumpkin Show;  so we went today for old time’s sake.  When he first asked me, I thought it was a little odd. I didn’t know about Circleville or pumpkin shows.

My first Circleville Pumpkin Show featured:

 *Pumpkins
*Pumpkin princesses (little and big)
* Fair Food .
* Parades

We went on the Ferris Wheel, and another shaky ride.

On the midway, a man couldn’t guess my age. I used to look very young.

My husband won a big stuffed animal for me.

Today
I  noticed all the festive houses decorated for the occasion. We only looked at the rides. Neither of us wanted to go on the Ferris wheel.

Pumpkin Festival food includes:

pumpkin pie
pumpkin ice cream
pumpkin shakes
pumpkin soda
pumpkin candy
pumpkin  Jo’s (A sloppy joe with pumpkin in it).

We ate french fries, pumpkin pie, and shared a pumpkin soda. It was weird, but it was a little different. It had a candy pumpkin in the bottom of the glass.

There was booth after booth of all sorts of stuff that I don’t really want or need. If I had money to burn I might’ve bought an artsy glass pumpkin.  I did think about getting a painted on tattoo. (Only for a minute.)

I didn’t want him to win a stuffed animal for me. He did ask. I don’t need any more stuff to clutter up my life.

I didn’t let anyone guess my age. I was afraid he’d get it right this time.

Kids like festivals
I sat down and watched some of the little kids riding on the kiddie rides.  It doesn’t take much to make a little kid happy. Just put them on a little roller coaster, or little merry-go-round.

We watched some little girls dancing in an inside stage area. They were cute, and wearing some pretty fancy costumes.  They seemed to be having a little trouble staying together, but it was entertaining. Their families looked proud.

A Crafts barn

My husband agreed to go in a crafts barn with me.  It had some pretty neat stuff: quilts, crocheted things, homemade sculptures, and very cool children’s art. That was the first time I’d spotted it

When we were going home, we reminisced about our lives together, and some of the trips we’ve taken to the Circleville Pumpkin Show. We manage to have fun each time.

Little Princess Pumpkin Parade

We left before we could watch the whole parade. There were little princesses, riding on tops of cars as far as the eye could see. Lots of bands were playing.

Go, it runs through, Saturday, October 20th.  You’ll see some crazy gourds and pumpkins. The prices of the food isn’t too bad. $2.00 for a slice of pumpkin pie is a pretty good deal.

If you go, tell me what you liked.  Did anyone else ever go on their first date at a festival?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 thoughts on “The Circleville Pumpkin Show: Pumpkins galore!

  1. Hi there! What a wnderful story – my best to you and your husband on a “first date anniversary.” I made some of those artsy glass pumpkins you talked about (jewelry, though…) so thanks for the cal-out and the ping-back and for sharing your fun story.

  2. I never had a date to the Pumpkin Festival, but I had a nice bus ride with the marching band in 1963. This was a great reminiscence, Barb. I enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

