Why are our 21st Century Heroes so narcissistic? The Tipping Point for me: Lance Armstrong


English: Arnold Schwarzenegger in July 2003

English: Arnold Schwarzenegger in July 2003 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the old days that I remember, our heroes were strong, humble, and caring for others.  They did not make speeches about how great they were. This might explain why so many of us admire Barack Obama. The President

Lance Armstrong getting mobbed

Lance Armstrong getting mobbed (Photo credit: ShapeThings)

English: This photo depicts Donald Trump's sta...

English: This photo depicts Donald Trump’s star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

typifies old-fashioned behavior. He isn’t big on name calling, boastfulness, and he  loves his family. He’s not afraid to tell us that either. He also manages to appeal to our human positive side too.

In contrast to him, we have a lot of boastful narcissists continually taking the spotlight. It’s good to have a good self-image, but do you have to tell everyone else about it? Can you get outside yourself for five minutes?

Then we have members of Congress, who do nothing but argue and name call, and put themselves first. No wonder we’re all so discouraged.  If you ask me, they all need a good talking to about really caring about other people. What happened to respecting the office of President of the United States? People used to do that.

Media Narcissists

The latest media boastful heroes have been Arnold Schwarzenegger, Donald Trump, and now Lance Armstrong.

Donald Trump is the example of the professional “I am great person.” I think people are finally sick and tired of him. He is nothing but a bully. He does prove the maxim if you tell people how great you are, they will believe you.

I watched “The Apprentice.” At first I thought he was nicer than people thought. But, as time went on, I realized first impressions can sometimes be correct.  He operates by telling  people how great he is, makes them call him “Mr. Trump,” and basically sets himself up as a king.

He rewards the people who are the most competitive and cut throat like him. He fought with comedienne Rosie O’Donnell by calling her names.  He challenged the President of the United States  to supply him with proof of his birth. He said “if he does this, I will contribute to the charity of his choice.” Really?

Then we  have good old Arnold Schwarzenegger walking all over Maria Shriver by fooling around right under her nose. He’s another one who managed to convince us to see his movies and elect him Governor.  Why? Because he told us he’s great and people believed him. He is trying to come back. I don’t think he’s going to make it. I think he went too far.

Now, we have Lance Armstrong. A person we thought was admirable turns out to be a pathological liar and a  bully. During his Oprah interviews he proved that he has little insight on his poor behavior and how he hurt other people. I wouldn’t be the least surprised if he comes back like other people displaying poor behavior.  Personally, I’ve had enough of him.

Yes, I’m talking about Bill Clinton. A lot of people forget he was impeached for his bad behavior.   I wonder what happened to the girl he victimized. But everyone forgave him, and he’s more popular than ever.

Maybe one day, the tide will turn. Maybe one day we’ll get back to politeness, good behavior, and acting civilized.
What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Why are our 21st Century Heroes so narcissistic? The Tipping Point for me: Lance Armstrong

  1. Barb, these people are allowed to do what they do because people like you care about them and talk about them and feed the media. I wouldn’t read another word about any of them, much less watch the stupid “interviews” and all the rest of the coverage. You and millions of other Americans make it all happen.

    • You do have a point. But, ignoring them isn’t going to make them go away either. Armstrong had a huge audience for the Oprah interview. It did convince me that he’s not worth my time anymore. Until I saw him, I wasn’t convinced. I am just wondering why the public (including me) is fascinated with bad behavior. Thanks so much for commenting. I appreciate it.

  2. This is such a great post. The narcissism of celebrities including Bill Clinton drives me nuts. I don’t know who I am more frustrated at? Them, or the people who idolize them. Why as a culture/people do we reward narcissism with heaps of money and public adulation?
    The celebrity culture is dismaying. Why don’t we idolize good people, who do helpful things???
    Sports figures? Sleazy politicians? Over-rated movie stars. Come on people…
    Great post.
    It would be so cool to do a monthy post, “Narcissistic celebrity of the month!” You could pick the top three and have bloggers vote!!!
    If you do it, I’m voting and it might be really successful and make a difference!!!

Leave a Reply

