The baby is becoming a toddler!


At eight and a half months, we are babysitting the baby. He is becoming more mobile. He isn’t exactly crawling, but he’s going around in 360’s and manipulating himself to get where he’s going. He kicks his legs with a lot of energy, but has figured out exactly how to move them. His upper body is getting pretty strong.

Today we bought him a folding high chair. We figure if he’s going to stay overnight once in awhile, his majesty better have a place to dine.

I see him eyeing a table, so I’ll have to move it. I can also tell that he’d love to get to the sliding glass door leading out to the backyard. My husband has built a room to the back of it. (His own mother stood up for the very first time holding onto the very same glass door).

He didn’t like the way I put him down on the red Ohio State blanket placed on the floor, and he cried a little. He is letting me know, I’d better be as careful as can be. He also baptised a portion of the rug when I was changing his diaper. I don’t remember my son doing stuff like that. I guess I wasn’t noticing, or he didn’t do it around me.

We put him in the big bathtub. His parents put him in this baby to toddler bathtub, we only had a very little infant bathtub, so we got our kids in the bathtub by six months. I suppose we shouldn’t have done a first like that without his parent’s permission ,but he is just too big to fit into the sink.

We held onto him, and he seemed delighted with the whole experience. He splashed his hands. We made sure it was the proper temperature. I couldn’t help remembering my own children in the bathtub. It wasn’t my favorite thing to do. I couldn’t get them in, or out to efficiently. It probably didn’t help that I had a lot of bath toys in there. My husband, on the other hand, is pretty good with moving things along.

We sang a few songs,and he seemed to really enjoy the experience. He seems pretty musical already, and bounces to the beat. I tried to put him to bed, and he protested with a few little cries, but I just checked and he’s sleeping like a champ. It sure has brought back the good, fun memories of having a little one.

One thought on “The baby is becoming a toddler!

Leave a Reply

