Two year old Aidan’s birthday party 


Grandmother Diaries

Today was the grandson, Aidan’s, second birthday. After having my own sixty-fifth birthday several days ago, I reflected on how lucky I was to fully enjoy this treasured child’s milestone birthday.

All day Aidan waited for the cake moment when we would sing “Happy Birthday” to him. He was so excited that he loudly protested taking an afternoon nap.

I left the whole scene and went to pick up his 93-year old great great aunt, Rochel, at her apartment. She perks up every time we include her in our family celebrations concerning her nephew.

After returning home, I slipped up the stairs to see how the nap was going. What I found was his grandpa (papa) almost asleep in his room, and Aidan standing up with his arms extended for me. I, being a reluctant disciplinarian, swooped him out of his bed and allowed him to play with a toy…

View original post 312 more words

Leave a Reply

