Do you judge people by their weight?


I found out that people thought I was fat.  I did this by accidently losing weight.

I was prescribed a pill that made me lose my appetite. I couldn’t eat or stand the smell of food. I had to force myself to stuff food down my throat.

It was not a good experience. You don’t realize how precious the act of eating is until you can’t easily do it.

People suddently starting complimenting me

Even though I felt awful, I was getting compliments everywhere I went. This is pretty funny considering I’m 65 years old. I didn’t think anyone looked at me anymore.

I have since switched medicines, and regained my appetite. I know it’s probably only a matter of time until I regain some of the weight. I am still trying to keep it off and it’s been 2 months.

I had lost some weight on my own before the pill debacle. I joined an exercise group and am keeping it up. But, I have regained around 5-6 pounds.

I noticed the compliments have stopped. I have to live with the reality that I will probably regain more of the weight.

Judging people by their size

We all do it. Even me. I think it’s so superficial to do this. I think it’s ingrained in our society. If we see someone who is overweight we think they are lazy, or ignorant.

I went to McDonalds and saw so many heavy people sitting there. I guess I was one of them, and didn’t

At my slimmest, but it's not going to last long.

At my slimmest, but it’s not going to last long.

know it. I thought, what’s wrong with them?  Don’t they know lousy hamburgers, sugary drinks and french fries are bad for them?

So, what was I doing there?

I am going to make an effort not to judge people by their size, but as Martin Luther King Jr. said, “by the content of their character.”

2 thoughts on “Do you judge people by their weight?

Leave a Reply

