Powerball Winning: Does money buy happiness?


I’ve always heard that money doesn’t buy happiness. Many of us don’t believe this, judging by the long lines  waiting to buy Powerball tickets for the January 13 drawing. I bought a ticket.

I wouldn’t mind winning. I could think of a lot of things I could do with the money. I wouldn’t be home because I’d be off seeing the world.  I’d share it with my relatives. I’d be a big time philanthropist and help others who could really benefit. I’d feed the hungry, help find a cure for cancer and become best buds with Bill and Melinda Gates.

Other people have had these type of motives in mind, and lost it all.  They didn’t think about tax ramifications, gave away more than they had and bought way too much stuff for too many people.

There are some people who have totally blown it all! 

Evelyn Adams won the lottery in 1984 and 1986. Twice! And she squandered it gambling, and giving it away to relatives and friends.

Viv Nicholson from Britain spent all her money (about 5 million in US dollars) on stuff. There was a play based on her winnings called, “Spend, Spend, Spend.” She even ended up doing a striptease to the song, “Hey Big Spender.”

There’s even a 1997 Texas winner,  Billie Bob Harrell Jr., who ended up committing suicide when he lost it all. Apparently he donated a lot to his church, bought houses for his relatives, and went through it like water.

Can this be the whole story? 

I’m sure there are people who have benefited and used their money in responsible ways. Why is it that we don’t hear about them?

Maybe, because we all believe we should earn our money by working for it.  It just seems like getting it by gambling isn’t quite right.

What would you do with your winnings? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

3 thoughts on “Powerball Winning: Does money buy happiness?

Leave a Reply

