I lost my best friend, and I was bereft. It was my computer!


English: Description: Social Networking Source...

English: Description: Social Networking Source: own work Author: koreshky Date: 12/10/2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I heard President Clinton talking to Sanja Gupta on CNN. One comment I found interesting was when he discussed social networking, and the young people of today. He was afraid that they won’t be able to engage people in the present here and now.

I do happen to agree that socializing is changing. But, I’m not sure if things are different, it means that they’re worse.

 

I have news for President Clinton, social networking just doesn’t affect young people. It affects people like me. As you know from the title of this blog, I am no spring chicken.

 

My Mac computer’s hard drive gave up the ghost this past week. It just slowed to a crawl, and then it stopped. I was beside myself. It was like a friend or child was sick.

 

So, I hurried over to the Apple store where the poor thing was misdiagnosed. The apple genius thought all I had to do was take off a few pictures. When that didn’t work, I knew it was a more serious case. Just like one of my children, I made another doctor’s appointment, and found out my poor little computer had a definite problem with its guts. (We have something in common because my guts don’t work so good anymore either.)

 

So, I took  the poor patient to a better doctor who correctly diagnosed my little friend as having to get a hard drive transplant.

 

I finally found a reasonably priced place on the other side of town, and took her (my computer is a girl). The hard part is I had to part with her for three days.

 

I was so morose that I had to go to the library and borrow their computer to write my post from yesterday.

 

Seriously, what I realized is that I am addicted to social networking. I like to go on Facebook, and see what everyone is doing. I like to write my thoughts for the day on my blog.

 

When I got to the store, and greeted my little girl with great warmth the receptionist at the store said, “Everyone does that, it’s too funny.” Apparently, she isn’t so attached to social networking.

 

Hopefully, my computer will last at least another year or two. (Just like me!)

What do you think about social networking. Is it a good or bad thing?

 

One thought on “I lost my best friend, and I was bereft. It was my computer!

Leave a comment